Overton Wins Gobbler, McIntosh Bags SNB Title At Boyd’s

Brandon Overton scored the win in Saturday’s running of The Gobbler for the Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Bonus Series at Boyd’s Speedway. Photo by Ronnie Barnett/The Photo Man

Brandon Overton drove to the front of the field in Saturday’s running of The Gobbler at Boyd’s Speedway at Ringgold, Georgia, and went on to score the Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Bonus Series victory.

The Evans, Georgia speedster pocketed the $5,000 winner’s payday after starting from the 12th starting position.

In the meantime, Dawsonville, Georgia’s Donald McIntosh scored the series championship with a second place finish.

The opening lap of the feature would see pole sitter McIntosh and fourth place starting Michael Page go side-by-side for the lead as the pair exited turn four, with McIntosh holding a slight advantage. However, Page would grab the race lead down the backstretch on lap two, with Riley Hickman, Jaden Frame, and Devin Moran in pursuit.

Page and McIntosh would pull away from Hickman as Page was set to begin working lap traffic. But disaster would strike Page as he made contact with the outside wall entering turn three, leaving his machine with right front suspension damage. That moved McIntosh back to the race lead on the restart.

Donald McIntosh wrapped up the Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Bonus Series 2017 title with a second place finish on Saturday at Boyd’s Speedway. Photo by Brian McLeod

As McIntosh began building an advantage, Overton moved his way into the top five by lap ten. Over the next several laps, he would continue his charge, and by lap 17, he moved into the second position.

As the race neared the halfway point, McIntosh was working slower traffic while Overton was working to chase down the race leader. Overton would close in on McIntosh on lap 32, and as the pair attempted to split a slower car, McIntosh had to check up for a split second. That allowed Overton to make the pass for the lead on lap 33. From there, Overton drove away to score the victory.

McIntosh had to settle for second, wrapping up the 2017 series championship and a total of $15,106.

Jadon Frame finished in third, followed by Riley Hickman in fourth and Devin Moran in fifth.

Austin Smith, Brandon Kinzer, David Payne, Wil Roland, and John Ownbey rounded out the top ten.

For more information on the Southern Nationals Series, visit SouthernNationalsSeries.com.

Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Bonus Series
Boyd’s Speedway – Ringgold, GA
The Gobbler – November 18, 2017

1. Brandon Overton – Evans, GA
2. Donald McIntosh – Dawsonville, GA
3. Jadon Frame – Winchester, TN
4. Riley Hickman – Ooltewah, TN
5. Devin Moran – Dresden, OH
6. Austin Smith – Rome, GA
7. Brandon Kinzer – Lexington, KY
8. David Payne – Murphy, NC
9. Wil Roland – Jasper, GA
10. John Ownbey – Cleveland, TN
11. Johnny Cloer – Chatsworth, GA
12. Zach Leonhardi – Cartersville, GA
13. Mason Massey – Douglasville, GA
14. Justin Shipley – Douglasville, GA
15. Jerry Ashley – Elora, TN
16. Joseph Faulkner – Fayetteville, TN
17. Craig Greer – Cleveland, TN
18. Billy Ogle, Jr. – Knoxville, TN
19. Joey Standridge – Tellico Plains, TN
20. Jeff Neubert – Rockford, TN
21. Caleb Ashby – Cunningham, TN
22. Michael Page – Douglasville, GA


About Michael Despain and Chris Tilley