Wilson Sings Winning Tune With All American 400 Victory

Donnie Wilson scored the victory in Sunday’s All American 400 Super Late Model race at Fairgrounds Speedway Nashville. Photo: Fairgrounds Speedway Nashville/Facebook

Sunday’s All American 400 asphalt Super Late Model race at Tennessee’s Fairgrounds Speedway Nashville came down to a battle between a veteran and a young driver.

In the end, it was the veteran standing in victory lane, playing the guitar.

Donnie Wilson held off a strong late charge from Spencer Davis over the closing laps, edging out the Dawsonville, Georgia youngster by just a few car lengths for the win.

The victory was worth a $16,000 payday for the Oklahoma City, Oklahoma racer, and also gave him one of the most coveted pieces of hardware in all of motorsports – a Nashville Guitar trophy.

Following the race’s final caution on lap 325, Wilson took the lead from Mason Mingus on the restart, and would pace the event the rest of the way. Davis would work his way into second, but it appeared Wilson was going to win by a health y margin as the laps wound down.

With 25 laps to go, Wilson led by about a second and a half. But with 10 laps left in the 400 lap race, Davis turned up the wick, and began closing on the leader.

As Wilson took the white flag, Davis had closed to within a few car lengths. But he couldn’t get close enough to the leader to challenge for the win.

Davis, who paced the race for several laps during the middle portion of the race, had to settle for second, with defending Snowball Derby winner Christian Eckes in third, Cole Rouse in fourth and Mason Mingus in fifth.

Tyler Ankrum finished in sixth.

Senoia, Georgia’s Bubba Pollard, who entered the day as the defending race winner, raced in the top five for much of the race. In the end, he would settle for a seventh place finish.

Matt Craig, Lawrenceville, Georgia’s Casey Roderick and Austin Thaxton rounded out the top ten.

Jasper, Georgia’s Chandler Smith started the race on the pole. He led several laps and raced inside the top 10 all day, but was sidelined with mechanical issues with just over 50 laps to go.

Casey Roderick recorded the Pro Late Model victory Sunday at Fairgrounds Speedway Nashville, wrapping up the division championship in the process. Photo: Casey Roderick Motorsports/Facebook

Earlier in the day, Casey Roderick edged out Stephen Nasse to score the win in the 100 lap Pro Late Model feature.

The win gave Roderick the track PLM championship, making him the first driver from Georgia to win a track title at the historic 5/8 mile speedway.

Roderick, driving for Georgia Racing Hall of Famer Ronnie Sanders, took the lead on lap 35 of the 100 lap feature, and went on to take the victory.

It also gave him his third Pro Late Model championship of the year, having won titles earlier in the year at Florida’s Five Flags Speedway and Alabama’s Montgomery Motor Speedway.

Nasse held on for second, with Justin Ashburn in third, Cole Williams in fourth and Dacula, Georgia’s Christopher Tullis in fifth.

Kyle Ivey, Austin Brawley, Dillon Oliver, Corey Deuser and Mark Day rounded out the top ten finishers.

Fairgrounds Speedway Nashville – Nashville, TN
All American 400 – Oct. 1, 2017

1. Donnie Wilson
2. Spencer Davis
3. Christian Eckes
4. Cole Rouse
5. Mason Mingus
6. Tyler Ankrum
7. Bubba Pollard
8. Matt Craig
9. Casey Roderick
10. Austin Thaxton
11. Danny O’Quinn, Jr.
12. Dennis Schoenfield
13. Kyle McCallum
14. Joseph Meyer
15. Chandler Smith
16. Nathan Davis
17. Casey Johnson
18. Steve Wallace
19. Raphael Lessard
20. Chad Finley
21. Cole Timm
22. Stephen Nasse
23. Willie Allen

Pro Late Models
1. Casey Roderick
2. Stephen Nasse
3. Justin Ashburn
4. Cole Williams
5. Christopher Tullis
6. Kyle Ivey
7. Austin Brawley
8. Dillon Oliver
9. Corey Deuser
10. Mark Day
11. Dylan Fetcho
12. Joseph Graf
13. Daniel Bolden
14. Bobby Knox
15. Jackson Boone
16. Preston Bores
17. Jordan McCallum
18. Bennie Hamlett
19. Sterling Marlin
20. Stacey Crain
21. Davey Coble
22. Eddie Taylor
23. Michael House
24. Michael Bolden
25. William Hale
26. Billy Sisco
27. Hal Musler
28. Austin Finley


About Brandon Reed