McCreadie Claims Southern Nationals Victory At Boyd’s

Tim McCreadie scored the victory in Saturday night’s Shamrock 40 for the Southern Nationals Bonus Series at Boyd’s Speedway. Photo by Ronnie Barnett/The Photo Man

Tim McCreadie took his first Southern Nationals Bonus Series victory Saturday night, as he won the Shamrock 40 at Boyd’s Speedway in Ringgold, Georgia.

The Watertown, New York driver inherited the lead after Brandon Overton’s car broke on the 14th lap, and went on to score the $4,000 Shamrock 40 win.

Overton and Mike Marlar brought the 22 car field to the green flag, with Overton taking the early lead. By lap nine, Marlar has closed the gap on Overton for the race lead and by the next circuit, McCreadie had caught and passed Marlar for the second spot.

After a lap 14 caution for Overton’s problems, McCreadie took the lead, with Dale McDowell moving to second.

While McCreadie built his lead, Marlar and McDowell battled behind him for second place. With six laps to go, McDowell moved firmly into the runner up spot.

Meanwhile, McCreadie went on to score the victory. McDowell came across the finish line in second, with Marlar in third, Jason Hiett in fourth and Donald McIntosh in fifth.

Three cautions slowed the event. The first came on lap 11, when Forrest Gifford came to a stop in turn four. The second came on lap 14 for Overton. The final caution came out on lap 17 as Billy Ogle, Jr. slowed in turn two.

The Southern Nationals Bonus Series race returns to action on May 20 at Kentucky’s Richmond Raceway.

For more information, visit

Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Bonus Series
Boyd’s Speedway – Ringgold, GA
Shamrock 40 – March 18, 2017

1. Tim McCreadie – Watertown, NY
2. Dale McDowell – Chickamauga, GA
3. Mike Marlar – Winfield, TN
4. Jason Hiett – Oxford, AL
5. Donald McIntosh – Dawsonville, GA
6. Michael Page – Winston, GA
7. David Payne – Murphy, NC
8. Shanon Buckingham – Morristown, TN
9. Riley Hickman – Cleveland, TN
10. Jason Welshan – Maryville, TN
11. Jamie Oliver – Murphy, NC
12. Robby Moses – Maryville, TN
13. Shane Tankersley – Morgonton, GA
14. Jimmy Brown – Harrison, TN
15. Caleb Ashby – Cunningham, TN
16. Billy Ogle, Jr. – Knoxville, TN
17. Joey Standridge – Tellico Plains, TN
18. Brandon Overton – Evans, GA
19. Craig Greer – Cleveland, TN
20. Forrest Gifford – Flintville, TN
21. Ricky Weiss – Headingly, Manitoba, Canada
22. Todd Morrow – East Ridge, TN


About Chris Tilley