Larson Wins Again At New Smyrna In World Series Action

Kyle Larson, seen here from his first Super Late Model victory in the Pete Orr Memorial Orange Blossom 100, scored another win Saturday night at New Smyrna Speedway. Photo courtesy

Just one week after scoring his first Super Late Model victory at New Smyrna Speedway, Kyle Larson made his second trip to victory lane in SLM action Saturday night at the New Smyrna Beach, FL raceway as the World Series of Asphalt Racing got underway.

Events were delayed by a day due to rainy weather Friday evening.

Larson, a sprint car pro, held off Ryan Moore to score the victory.  Martin Latulippe was flagged third, but failed post race inspection, handing the position to Gus Dean.  Jim Scofield finished fourth with Anthony Sergi fifth.

In the Tour-Type/SK Modifieds feature, it was Ted Christopher scoring the win, with Patrick Emerling running second.  Chuck Hossfeld, Eric Goodale and Daniel Hemric rounded out the top five.  David Cranmer finished eighth overall, scoring the SK victory.

In Super Stock action, Rich Clouser beat out Jeff Colburn for the victory.  Ernie Tumminello finished third, with Bobby Holley fourth and Dustin Turnage fifth.

In Pro Late Model action, Brandon Watson was originally flagged the winner, with Drew Brannon flagged in second.  But both failed to pass post-race tech, handing the victory to Travis Swaim.  Dawsonville, GA racer Spencer Davis moved to second, with Cole Powell, Brandon Hermiller and Anthony Sergi rounding out the top five.

In the Florida Modifieds feature, Jerry Symons picked up the win.  Tim Moore placed second, with Dewayne Dempsey, Austin Stamper and Travis Roland rounding out the top five.

All results are unofficial until certified by race officials.

The 46th annual World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing continues Sunday with TBARA Winged Sprint Cars, along with Super Late Models, Pro Late Models and FL/IMCA Type Modifieds.  For more info, visit


About Staff