Derek Griffith Takes PASS Icebreaker Win Thompson

Derek Griffith scored the PASS North Super Late Model victory in Sunday’s Icebreaker 100 at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park. Photo by Norm Marx

Derek Griffith nailed down his first Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park victory in impressive fashion, outrunning two-time PASS North Super Late Model Champion D.J. Shaw to the checkered flag in the Icebreaker 100 Sunday afternoon at the Thompson, Connecticut raceway.

Griffith, who had been a runner-up in Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park Super Late Model competition in the past, started from fifth position.

The of Hudson, New Hampshire driver battled Saturday heat race winners and early frontrunners Shaw and Reid Lanpher before grabbing the race lead, which he would not relinquish.

Shaw and his team were the best of the rest after leading the race’s early stages, with North Carolina invader Jared Irvan posting a hard-earned, third-place finish after a few good on-track battles, most notably with sixth-place finisher Eddie MacDonald.

Lanpher crossed the line in fourth position after rebounding from an unscheduled pit stop. Todd Stone filled out the top-five after an impressive late charge.

MacDonald, Ray Christian III, Wayne Helliwell, Jr., defending PASS North Super Late Model champion Travis Benjamin and Garrett Hall rounded out the top ten.

Saturday afternoon Super Late Model heat race wins were earned by Lanpher and Shaw.

The next Pro All Stars Series North Super Late Model race is scheduled for 2:00 p.m. on Sunday, April 15, at Maine’s Oxford Plains Speedway in Oxford, Maine.

For more information, visit

PASS North Super Late Models
Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park – Thompson, CT
Icebreaker 100 – April 8, 2018

Unofficial Results

1. 12G – Derek Griffith
2. 60 – D.J. Shaw
3. 28x – Jared Irvan
4. 59 – Reid Lanpher
5. 1X – Todd Stone
6. 17MA – Eddie MacDonald
7. 93CT – Ray Christian III
8. 27NH – Wayne Helliwell
9. 14G – Travis Benjamin
10 94 – Garrett Hall
11. 00 – Jimmy Renfrew
12. 7L – Glen Luce
13. 5 – Dillon Moltz
14. 80 – Trevor Sanborn
15. 4N – Ben Rowe
16. 28 – Greg Nanigan
17. 01 – Sammy Gooden, Jr.
18. 21 – Brandon Turbush
19. 35 – Derek Ramstrom
20. 59x – Kodie Conner
21. 40VT – Nick Sweet
DNS: 2 – Nick Cusack


About Series PR