Pennington, Brown Win Screven, Hicks FASTRAK Champ

Benji Hicks scored the FASTRAK Racing Series championship over the weekend as the series wrapped up the 2017 season at Screven Motor Speedway. Photo: FASTRAK Media

Travis Pennington and Dillon Brown picked up victories as a part of the Georgia Outlaw State Championships for the FASTRAK Racing Series over the weekend at Screven Motor Speedway in Sylvania, Georgia.

Meanwhile, Benji Hicks took home the series championship for 2017.

On Friday night, Pennington overtook Hicks on lap six of the feature, and went on to lead the rest of the way in the 30 lap feature to score the victory.

The win was worth $2,000 to the Stapleton, Georgia racer, who also set fast time in qualifying with a lap at 15.524 seconds around the 3/8 mile dirt track.

Hicks held on to finish in second, with Ches Chester in third, Cla Knight in fourth and Dennis Franklin in fifth.

On Saturday night, Dillon Brown of Gaffney, South Carolina led flag-to-flag to score the $3,000 victory.

Brown jumped to the lead form the outside of the front row, and drove away to take the win.

Shane Riner finished in second, with Chester in third, Franklin in fourth, and fast qualifier Matthew Nance in fifth.

With a combination of a second place finish on Friday and a sixth place finish on Saturday, Benji Hicks of Mt. Airy, North Carolina wrapped up the 2017 FASTRAK Racing Series Southeast Championship. Hicks’ Friday night result locked up the title for him going into Saturday night’s season finale.

Hicks began the season with a win at Georgia’s Toccoa Raceway on April 1. He picked up three more victories, beginning on June 3 at Virginia Motor Speedway in Jamaica, Virginia, August 4 at Wythe Raceway in Rural Retreat, Virginia, and August 12 at West Virginia’s Princeton Speedway.

Hicks finished the 15-race season with nine top five finishes and 12 top tens.

For more information on the FASTRAK Racing Series, visit

FASTRAK Racing Series
Screven Motor Speedway – Sylvania, GA
Georgia Outlaw State Championships – Nov. 17-18, 2017

Friday Night
1. Travis Pennington
2. Benji Hicks
3. Ches Chester
4. Cla Knight
5. Dennis Franklin
6. Ben Faircloth
7. Cody Overton
8. Walker Arthur
9. Brandon Umberger
10. Colby Cannon
11. Joshua Bishop
12. Matthew Nance
13. John Henderson
14. Jensen Ford
15. Corey Gordon
16. Shane Riner
17. Garrett Shurling
18. Parker Herring
19. Phillip Thompson
20. Jim Manka
21. Dustin Morris
22. Jordon Feider
23. Eddie Morris
24. David Smith

Saturday Night
1. Dillon Brown
2. Shane Riner
3. Ches Chester
4. Dennis Franklin
5. Matthew Nance
6. Benji Hicks
7. Cla Knight
8. Ben Faircloth
9. Walker Arthur
10. Dustin Morris
11. Parker Herring
12. Joshua Bishop
13. Jenson Ford
14. Banjo Duke
15. Austin Mintz
16. Kerry Gibbons
17. Nick Schalger
18. Jordan Feider
19. T.J. Salango
20. Travis Pennington
21. Phillip Thompson
22. Brandon Umberger
23. Johnny Pursley
24. Colby Cannon


About Series PR