Reaid Takes Southern Nationals Bonus Win At Maryville

T.J. Reaid scored the Southern Nationals Bonus Series victory on Saturday night at Smoky Mountain Speedway. Photo: T.J. Reaid/Facebook

A late race pass gave T.J. Reaid the victory in Saturday night’s Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Bonus Series feature at Smoky Mountain Speedway in Maryville, Tennessee.

The win was worth a $5,000 payday for the Acworth, Georgia racer.

It also made him the eighth different winner in nine total Southern Nationals Bonus Series events.

Ray Cook jumped to the race lead on the initial start. As the field worked to complete the first lap, a tangle involving Ryan King, Craig Greer, Joey Standridge, James Roulette, and Jeff Neubert broke out in turn one and negated the start.

Once action got underway, Cook moved to the lead, with Reaid, Billy Ogle, Jr., Tommy Kerr, and Skylar Marlar giving chase. Cook and Reaid would pull away from the field, while Kerry moved to the third position. The field would settle in until the final caution of the race flew on lap 14 when Steve Smith would slow on the frontstretch with mechanical issues.

The restart would see Cook and Reaid again motor away from the pack. The lead pair of battled through heavy lap traffic, with Reaid challenging Cook time and again. On lap 37, Reaid pulled even with Cook off turn two, and made the pass for the lead as they raced into turn three. Tommy Kerr would follow Reaid past Cook for second a lap later.

Up front, Reaid moved away to the victory, with Kerr in second and Cook in third. Dawsonville, Georgia’s Donald McIntosh finished in fourth, followed by Mike Marlar in fifth.

The next event for the Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Bonus Series will be on Friday, September 29 at Tri-County Race Track in Brasstown, North Carolina.

For more information, visit

Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Bonus Series
Smoky Mountain Speedway – Maryville, TN
Race Results – September 23, 2017

1. T.J. Reaid – Acworth, GA
2. Tommy Kerr – Maryville, TN
3. Ray Cook – Brasstown, NC
4. Donald McIntosh – Dawsonville, GA
5. Skylar Marlar – Winfield, TN
6. Brad Skinner – Spring Hill, TN
7. Billy Ogle, Jr. – Knoxville, TN
8. Stacy Boles – Clinton, TN
9. Carder Miller – Salem, VA
10. David Payne – Murphy, NC
11. Brian Ligon – Augusta, GA
12. Bobby Giffin – Maryville, TN
13. Levi Ashby – Cumberland Furnace, TN
14. Joey Standridge – Telico Plains, TN
15. Jeff Neubert – Rockford, TN
16. Steve Smith – Powell, TN
17. Kayne Hickman – Soddy Daisy, TN
18. Kenny Collins – Colbert, GA
19. Ryan King – Seymour, TN
20. James Roulette – Dawsonville, GA
21. David Crabtree – Maryville, TN
22. Craig Greer – Cleveland, TN


About Michael Despain