Sorrow, Gibson Split Anderson Twin Late Model Features

Luke Sorrow (left) and Trey Gibson (right) both scored Late Model Stock feature wins in twin 40-lap features Friday night at Anderson Motor Speedway. Photo: K.A.R. Photography

Luke Sorrow and Trey Gibson both made trips to victory lane at Anderson Motor Speedway in Williamston, South Carolina on Friday night.

With the raceway hosting a pair of 40-lap Late Model Stock Car features on the night, Sorrow took the win in the first race, while Gibson recorded the victory in the second race.

In the first race, Sorrow held off division points leader David Roberts score the victory. Gibson finished in third, with R.A. Brown in fourth and Justin Sorrow in fifth.

In the second feature, Gibson outdistanced the field to take the win. Roberts matched his performance in the first race with another second place finish. Nicholson, Georgia’s Taylor Satterfield finished in third, followed by Colby Howard in fourth and Luke Sorrow in fifth.

In other action, Phillip Peters scored the win in the Super Limited feature, with Steve Carver in second, Shaun Mize in third and Billy Coker in fifth.

Jeffrey Kummer was the winner in the Mini-Stock feature. David Darnell finished second, followed by Bryan Mitchell third, Chad Campbell fourth and Mitchell Stone fifth.

Chris Whitfield topped the Renegade field to take the feature victory. Shane Brown was second, with Jonathan Ragsdale third, Billy Brown fourth and Chad Watt fifth.

Stevie Johns took top honors in the U.S. Legends feature, with Karl Moberg, Randy Gunton, Craig Bruce and Lee Jordan rounding out the top five.

Scott Parker was the winner in the Front Wheel Drive feature. Chris Harvell finished in second, followed by Ricky Hill in third, Hunter Evans in fourth and Chris Burkett in fifth.

Anderson Motor Speedway takes the next weekend off, returning to action on Friday, with racing in the Asphalt Late Model Stocks, Super Limited, BM Modifieds, Mini Stocks, Renegades, and Front Wheel Drive divisions on tap.

For more information, visit

Anderson Motor Speedway – Williamston, SC
Race Results – July 28, 2017

Late Model Stocks Race 1
1. Luke Sorrow
2. David Roberts
3. Trey Gibson
4. R.A. Brown
5. Justin Sorrow
6. Colby Howard
7. Taylor Satterfield
8. Justin Hobgood
9. Will Burns
10. Kevin Sterling

Late Model Stocks Race 2
1. Trey Gibson
2. David Roberts
3. Taylor Satterfield
4. Colby Howard
5. Luke Sorrow
6. Justin Sorrow
7. R.A. Brown
8. Justin Hobgood
9. Will Burns

Super Limited
1. Philip Peters
2. Steve Carver
3. Shaun Mize
4. Billy Coker

Mini Stocks
1. Jeffrey Kummer
2. David Darnell
3. Bryan Mitchell
4. Chad Campbell
5. Mitchell Stone
6. Chris Whitfield
7. Bobby Brock
8. Jeff Turner
9. Chuck Mitchell
10. Chase Morrison
11. Ben Kay
12. Timmy Graham
DQ: Ryan Howard

1. Chris Whitfield
2. Shane Brown
3. Jonathan Ragsdale
4. Billy Brown
5. Chad Watt

US Legends
1. Stevie Johns
2. Karl Moberg
3. Randy Gunton
4. Craig Bruce
5. Lee Jordan
6. Dwayne Holder
7. Don Maness
8. Mitchell Hedstrom
9. John Creasy
10. Salvador Jimenez
11. Janson Marchbanks
12. Chris McKeehan
13. Dwayne Rumsey
14. Danny Cisson

Front Wheel Drives
1. Scott Parker
2. Chris Harvell
3. Ricky Hill
4. Hunter Evans
5. Chris Burkett
6. Robert Hall
7. Tommy Davis
8. Casey Burkett
9. Lance Partain
10. Allen Porter
11. Travis Barbare
12. Manuel Molleda


About Brandon Reed