Overton Sweeps Spring Nationals Kentucky Weekend

Brandon Overton waves to the crowd from victory lane after winning Friday night’s Spring Nationals Series feature at Ponderosa Speedway. Photo: McLeod Media Services

Brandon Overton made the most of the Kentucky double header weekend for the Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals Series.

Overton, who hails from Evans, Georgia, first took the win Friday night at Ponderosa Speedway in Junction City, Kentucky, then followed it up with a victory Saturday night at Florence Speedway in Union, Kentucky.

On Friday night, Overton led flag-to-flag in a caution free event at Ponderosa Speedway en route to the win and a $4,000 pay day.

After battling early with Jason Jameson, Overton would move away from all competition over the closing laps.

Jameson finished in second, with Mike Marlar in third, Ricky Weiss in fourth and Kent Robinson in fifth.

Cody Mahoney, Michael Chilton, Donald McIntosh, Tim Dohm and Shanon Buckingham rounded out the top ten.

On Saturday night, Overton again held off Marlar to take the $5,000 victory at Florence Speedway.

Overton took the lead at the drop of the green flag, with Eric Wells giving chase, only to have the first caution of the event wave on lap 2 when Ricky Weiss would spin his machine in turn two. The restart would see Overton maintain the lead over Wells until the front duo started working slower traffic on lap 7.

Wells would make his move one lap later and grab the race lead on lap 8. Devin Moran would get in the mix and take second on lap 10 to shuffle Overton back to third. Moran would quickly close in on Wells and snatch the lead away on lap 13 as Overton and Marlar battled directly behind this battle for the third position.

Overton and Marlar would work past Wells on lap 15, with Overton winning the battle for second from on lap 16. Overton was not done yet, as he would retake the lead in the event on lap 17 as the front four worked in heavy traffic. Moran and Marlar would race hard for the second position, with Marlar taking the position from Moran on lap 24.

Marlar would set his sights on Overton for the lead and would take the top spot in turn two on lap 33. Overton would drive back under Marlar and retake the lead again in turn three.

The final caution of the event would fly on lap 35 when Colin Green spun in turn four to tighten the field back up one final time. The restart would see Marlar pass for the lead once again in turn two, but Overton would again work back by Marlar and maintain the lead as the pair exited turn four.

Overton would pull away a bit by lap 40, but Marlar would regroup and make a run back at Overton again as the leader got into lapped traffic on lap 44. Overton would jump the cushion in turn four on lap 46 and Marlar would close in and take a look for the lead, but could not make the move. However, Overton would again jump the cushion as the field was set to see the white flag and give Marlar one final chance to make a move. But Overton drove a near-perfect final lap to claim the win, with Marlar second and Moran in third.

Eric Wells finished in fourth, with Chilton in fifth.

Buckingham, Eddie Carrier, Jr., McIntosh, Jesse Lay, and Jameson rounded out the top ten.

The Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals will return to action then on Friday, April 21 at Tennessee’s Crossville Speedway and Saturday April 22 at Volunteer Speedway in Bulls Gap, Tennessee.

For more information, visit SouthernNationalsSeries.com.

Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals
Ponderosa Speedway in Junction City, KY
Race Results – April 14, 2017

1. Brandon Overton – Evans, GA
2. Jason Jameson – Lawrenceburg, IN
3. Mike Marlar – Winfield, TN
4. Ricky Weiss – Headingly, Manitoba, Canada
5. Kent Robinson – Bloomington, IN
6. Cody Mahoney – Hanover, IN
7. Michael Chilton – Salvisa, KY
8. Donald McIntosh – Dawsonville, GA
9. Tim Dohm – Cross Lanes, WV
10. Shanon Buckingham – Morristown, TN
11. Eddie Carrier Jr. – Salt Rock, WV
12. Eric Wells – Hazard, KY
13. Brandon Kinzer – Lexington, KY
14. Chad Stapleton – Edinburgh, IN
15. Tripp Gerrald – Nicholasville, KY
16. Connor Meade – Clay City, KY
17. Robby Moses – Maryville, TN
18. David Doherty – Sydney, Australia
19. Jason Croft – Woodstock, GA
20. Jeremy Hines – Seymour, IN
21. Chris Combs – Isom, KY
22. Skylar Marlar – Winfield, TN

Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals
Florence Speedway – Union, KY
Race Results – April 15, 2017

1. Brandon Overton – Evans, GA
2. Mike Marlar – Winfield, TN
3. Devin Moran – Dresden, OH
4. Eric Wells – Hazard, KY
5. Michael Chilton – Salvisa, KY
6. Shanon Buckingham – Morristown, TN
7. Eddie Carrier Jr. – Salt Rock, WV
8. Donald McIntosh – Dawsonville, GA
9. Jesse James Lay – Walton, KY
10. Jason Jameson – Lawrenceburg, IN
11. Kyle Hardy – Stevens City, VA
12. Jason Croft – Woodstock, GA
13. Trevor Landrum – Erlanger, KY
14. Robby Moses – Maryville, TN
15. John Whitney Jr. – Blanchester, OH
16. Colin Green – Walton, KY
17. Brandon Kinzer – Lexington, KY
18. Adam Bowman – Seymour, IN
19. Cody Mahoney – Hanover, IN
20. Devin Gilpin – Columbus, IN
21. Steve Casebolt – Richmond, IN
22. Austyn Mills – Cincinnati, OH
23. Steve Landrum – Erlanger, KY
24. Ricky Weiss – Headingly, Manitoba, Canada
25. John Gill – Mitchell, IN


About Series PR