McCarty, Sellers Split South Boston Late Model Twinbill

Bobby McCarty (left) and Peyton Sellers (right) split Saturday’s twin 75-lap Late Model features at South Boston Speedway. Photo: South Boston Speedway/Twitter

Bobby McCarty Peyton Sellers each picked up a win in the Virginia State University NASCAR Late Model Twin 75s Saturday night at Virginia’s South Boston Speedway.

McCarty picked up the win in the first feature after inheriting the lead when race leader Sellers spun after contact from Lee Pulliam with eight laps to go.

Both drivers were forced to restart the race at the rear of field, with McCarty holding the top spot for the restart. Two more caution flags were waved for mishaps before the race ended, with McCarty holding off Danny Willis, Jr. and Austin Thaxton in a four-lap green-flag dash to the finish to earn his first win of the season.

Sellers rallied to finish fourth and Trevor Ward rounded out the top five.

Sellers, driving a No. 00 Toyota in honor of late NASCAR Busch Series Champion Sam Ard who passed away a week earlier, won the wreck-filled nightcap, taking the lead on the opening lap and holding off Pulliam by a margin of .300-second.

The win was Sellers’ first victory at South Boston Speedway in over a year.

Thaxton finished third with Brandon Pierce and Josh Oakley completing the top five finishers.

In other action, Trey Crews picked up his first win of the young season in the Limited Sportsman Division race, edging Mike Jones by .757-second in a seven-lap dash to the finish that followed the last of the race’s seven caution periods.
Crews, a one-time winner at South Boston Speedway last season, muscled his way under pole winner and race leader Colin Garrett of South Boston, Virginia with 22 laps to go in the race and led the rest of the way.
Colin Garrett finished third with Ross Dalton in fourth and Dylan Saul in fifth.

Harrison Walker had not won a race in his three previous seasons of competing in the Budweiser Pure Stock division. That changed for him on Saturday night.

Walker inherited the top spot when race leader Johnny Layne was forced to the pits with a mechanical issue halfway through the race and sped to a 3.571-second win over Randy Hupp.

Tyler Conner, Scott Phillips and Bruce Mayo rounded out the top five.

Tyler Crute picked up his second win in as many starts this season in the Budweiser Hornets Division, and did it by leading only the final lap.

Crute charged from his 12th place starting spot to pressure race leader Drew Dawson over the last half of the race. The pair started side-by-side on the race’s final restart with four laps to go.

On the last lap, Crute got the nose of his car in front of Dawson as they sped down the frontstretch for the final time. Contact was made between the two cars and Crute spun, taking the checkered flag with his car spinning sideways just in front of Dawson’s car.

Jared Dawson finished third, with Kevin Currin in fourth and Justin Dawson in fifth.

South Boston Speedway returns to action on Saturday, April 22 with a 100 lap NASCAR Late Model program, along with action from the Sportsman, Pure Stock and Hornets divisions.

For more information, visit

South Boston Speedway – South Boston, VA
Race Results – April 8, 2017

Late Model Race 1
1. 22 Bobby McCarty
2. 23 Danny Willis, Jr.
3. 12 Austin Thaxton
4. 00 Peyton Sellers
5. 77 Trevor Ward
6. 01 Philip Morris
7. 2 Brandon Pierce
8. 4 John Moore
9. 50 Raymond Pittman III
10. 5 Lee Pulliam
11. 14 Dusty Ellington
12. 28 Jason Barnes
13. 64 Charles Barnes
14. 29 Stuart Crews
15. 8 Josh Oakley
DNS: 22A Eric Winslow

Late Model Race 2
1. 00 Peyton Sellers
2. 5 Lee Pulliam
3. 12 Austin Thaxton
4. 2 Brandon Pierce
5. 8 Josh Oakley
6. 22 Bobby McCarty
7. 28 Jason Barnes
8. 77 Trevor Ward
9. 14 Dusty Ellington
10. 01 Philip Morris
11. 29 Stuart Crews
12. 23 Danny Willis, Jr.
13. 50 Raymond Pittman III
14. 64 Charles Barnes
15. 4 John Moore

Limited Sportsman
1. 9 Trey Crews
2. 39 Mike Jones
3. 24 Colin Garrett
4. 50 Ross Dalton
5. 18 Dylan Saul
6. 91 Chris Elliott
7. 89 David Latour, Jr.
8. 82 Barry Beggarly, Jr.
9. 17 Jason Myers
10. 16 Brandon Jones
11. 19 Bob Davis
12. 58 Daniel Moss
13. 22 Eric Winslow

Pure Stock
1. 10 Harrison Walker
2. 12 Randy Hupp
3. 3 Tyler Conner
4. 66 Scott Phillips
5. 00 Bruce Mayo
6. 75 Quincy Adkins
7. 61 Jimmy Wade
8. 9 Johnny Layne
9. 17 Joe Allred III

1. 15 Tyler Crute
2. 03 Drew Dawson
3. 01 Jared Dawson
4. 49 Kevin Currin
5. 88 Justin Dawson
6. 2 Matt Epps
7. 13 Connor Priest
8. 99 Stephen Trickey
9. 10 Timothy Smith
10. 9 Josh Dawson
11. 12 Kenny Mills
12. 36 Simon Jones


About Track PR