Tim McCreadie Powers To LOLMDS Victory At Batesville

Tim McCreadie (center) scored the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series victory Saturday night at Batesville Motor Speedway. Scott Bloomquist (right) finished in second, with Shannon Babb (left) in third. Photo: LOLMDS Media/Twitter

Tim McCreadie held off Scott Bloomquist to win the Bad Boy 98 on Saturday night at the Batesville Motor Speedway in Locust Grove, Arkansas.

McCreadie earned $20,000 for the victory in the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series and COMP Cams Super Dirt Series co-sanctioned event.

McCreadie bolted to the lead at the start of the 98-lap main feature and held off several challengers for his second LOLMDS win of the season. Bloomquist started ninth and finished second, followed by Shannon Babb in third. Josh Richards came home in fourth, with Don O’Neal in fifth.

“I want to thank the fans for coming out tonight,” McCreadie said. “I hope we put on a good show for them. It’s not the Topless 100, but it feels just as good to win this race. I am a little speed sensitive. The car felt good in clean air. I just didn’t know where to be.

“I am glad I had Phillip (Snellen), my crew chief down there helping me out by giving me signals. I got lost out there a little bit just running the top. Then I went back to the middle.”

Arkansas native Jack Sullivan ran in second for the first eight laps of the race until Darrell Lanigan forged ahead of him. Lanigan then battled with Bloomquist, who had quickly made his way to the front of the field after starting on the inside of the fourth row. Lanigan was running third when he slowed on lap 66 to bring out the caution – retiring from the remainder of the event.

A caution with 95 laps in the books set-up a three-lap shootout to the finish – but McCreadie got a good restart and kept Bloomquist at bay.

“It was our night,” said McCreadie. “The scoreboard had some lights out on it and I thought there were 30 laps to go or something like that. They told us on the radio that there were three to go, so I was relieved about that.”

Bloomquist was pleased with his night.

“Our car was good right from the start,” he said. “I would have liked to have had some more time to work on the car during the break before the feature, but it turned out okay for us. We would get close to him (McCreadie) in traffic and then a caution would come out. His car was good out front with no traffic. We just couldn’t get enough momentum to get by him.”

Shannon Babb was thrilled with his finish as well,

“We are extremely happy with this car,” Babb said. “This is only the fourth race we have run this year and these guys have been racing since January and February. I always look forward to coming here to race. The track was good tonight, and we passed a lot of good cars in this race. Our car was good up high, in the middle and down low. I don’t know what happened to Earl (Pearson) at the end, it was a tough break for those guys.

Sullivan, Steve Francis, Billy Moyer, Jr., Dennis Erb, Jr. and Gregg Satterlee rounded out the top ten.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Batesville Motor Speedway – Locust Grove, AR
Bad Boy 98 – April 8, 2017

1 1 39 Tim McCreadie Watertown, NY $20,800
2 9 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN $11,000
3 14 18 Shannon Babb Mowequa, IL $6,000
4 4 1R Josh Richards Shinnston, WV $4,700
5 11 5 Don O’Neal Martinsville, IN $4,300
6 3 18X Jack Sullivan Greenbrier, AR $2,500
7 20 15 Steve Francis Bowling Green, KY $2,800
8 8 21JR Billy Moyer, Jr. Batesville, AR $2,000
9 21 28E Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL $2,500
10 6 22 Gregg Satterlee Rochester Mills, PA $1,850
11 24 C8 Timothy Culp Prattsville, AR $2,350
12 18 777 Jared Landers Batesville, AR $1,600
13 2 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN $2,450
14 17 71 Hudson O’Neal Martinsville, IN $2,200
15 7 0 Jesse Stovall Billings, MO $1,450
16 23 99B Boom Briggs Bear Lake, PA $2,100
17 16 F5 Garrett Alberson Las Cruces, NM $1,350
18 12 6m Wendell Wallace Batesville, AR $1,300
19 22 86 Kyle Beard Trumann, AR $1,250
20 13 B5 Brandon Sheppard New Berlin, IL $1,200
21 25 R5 Hunter Rasdon Jonesboro, AR $1,200
22 10 1 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL $2,000
23 19 14z Zachary McMillan Gladewater, TX $1,200
24 15 21 Billy Moyer Batesville, AR $1,200
25 5 14 Darrell Lanigan Union, KY $1,900
26 26 5m Jon Mitchell Texarkana, TX $1,200
27 27 75 Colton Flinner Allison Park, PA $100


About Series PR