Watson Picks Up Limited Late Model Win At Hickory

Charlie Watson made the trip to Hickory Motor Speedway’s victory lane after winning Saturday night’s Limited Late Model feature. Photo by Sherri Stearns

Charlie Watson scored his third win of 2017 with a victory in Saturday night’s Limited Late Model feature at North Carolina’s Hickory Motor Speedway.

Dexter Canipe, Jr. would lead the field to green from the pole with Jeremy Pelfrey alongside. Canipe would jump out to the early lead, while Watson began moving his way towards the front.

By the halfway point, Watson had closed on Canipe, and would make the move to take the lead. A caution on lap 53 saw several drivers come to pit road. But the lead dueo of Watson and Canipe were happy with their rides, and stayed on the track.

Back under green, Watson would power back to the point, with Canipe in two. Canipe would take several looks to the inside, but Watson would prove to be to strong. In the end, it was Watson taking the victory, with Canipe settling for second.

Monty Cox finished in third, with Ryan Vasconcellos in fourth and Shane Lee in fifth.

Alex Reece, Pat Rachels, Jeremy Pelfrey, Mitch Walker and Dylan Oliver rounded out the top ten.

In other action, Eddie Gilbert scored the win in the Classic Sportsman Racing Association feature. He beat out Daniel Werner by a car length, with Bill Webb in third, William Powell in fourth and Robert Webb in fifth.

Tyler Dayton took the victory in the Super Truck feature. Sheflon Clay finished in second, with Charlie Neill in third, Joey Shuryan in fourth and Allen Huffman in fifth.

Cody DeMarmels made the pass for the lead late in the race after fighting side-by-side with Kevin Eby for several laps before driving away to score the Street Stocks victory. Eby finished in second, with Mark Whitten in third, Eric Evans in fourth and Chris Werner in fifth.

Curtis Pardue took the victory in the 4-Cylinder feature, with Brian Mundy in second, Robbie Lewis in third and Robert Trivette in fourth.

Hickory Motor Speedway returns to action next week, with racing from the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Bojangles Late Models, the Paramount Auto Group Limited Late Models, Cosmo Motors Street Stocks, One Design Super Trucks and the Renegades.

For more information, visit HickoryMotorSpeedway.com.

Hickory Motor Speedway – Newton, NC
Race Results – April 1, 2017

Limited Late Models
1. Charlie Watson
2. Dexter Canipe, Jr.
3. Monty Cox
4. Ryan Vasconcellos
5. Shane Lee
6. Alex Reece
7. Pat Rachels
8. Jeremy Pelfrey
9. Mitch Walker
10. Dylan Oliver
11. Dennis Trivette
12. Chris Chapman
13. Dylon Wilson

Classic Sportsman Racing
1. Eddie Gilbert
2. Dennis Werner
3. Bill Webb
4. Bill Powell
5. Robert Webb
6. Danny Toney
7. Bill Lett
8. Dennis Hinkle

Street Stocks
1. Cody DeMarmels
2. Kevin Eby
3. Mark Whitten
4. Eric Evans
5. Chris Werner
6. Marshall Sutton
7. Terrence Tucker
8. Trey Buff

Super Trucks
1. Tyler Dayton
2. Sheflon Clay
3. Charlie Neill
4. Joey Shuryan
5. Allen Huffman
6. Tanner Long
7. Keith Norville
8. Colby White
9. Chase Campbell

1. Curtis Pardue
2. Brian Mundy
3. Rob Lewis
4. Robert Trivette


About Track PR