Millington And Smith Split Hickory Late Model Openers

Ryan Millington (left) and R.D. Smith II (right) both made trips to victory lane with wins in Saturday’s twin 50-lap Late Model features at Hickory Motor Speedway. Photos by Sherri Stearns

Historic Hickory Motor Speedway opened up its 2017 racing season on Saturday night, as Ryan Millington and R.S. Smith II split the twin Late Model features on the night.

In the first 50-lap feature, Millington jumped to the early lead from the pole, and would hold off challenges from Charlie Watson and Cole Glasson en route to the victory. Andrew Garcia finished in fourth with Jake Ruggles in fifth.

In the second Late Model feature, Ty Gibbs would jump out ot the early lead, but soon gave way to Glasson. Glasson would continue to pace the field until late in the going, when R.D. Smith II moved up to battle for the top spot. After battling side-by-side for several laps, Smith edged out the win, beating Glasson across the finish line by half a car length. Millington finished in third, with Tal Davidson in third and Watson in fourth.

In other action, Jeremy Pelfrey grabbed the early lead in the Limited Late Model feature, with Mitch Walker in tow. Pelfrey would drive on to take the victory, with Walker in second, Pat Rachels in third, Alex Reece in fourth and Monty Cox in fifth.

Tyler Dayton led the Super Truck field to green, and would hold the position for the duration and he went on to score the win. Sheflon Clay came home in second, with Allen Huffman, Charlie Neill and Joey Shuryan rounding out the top five.

In the Street Stocks feature, Kevin Eby nosed ahead of Cody DeMarmels for the victory. Mark Whitten finished in third, with Eric Evans in fourth and Marshall Sutton in fifth.

It looked like Danny Crump, Jr. had the Renegade feature victory in his grasp, but when he was black flagged for jumping a late race restart, David Hasson and Kyle DiVanna were left to battle for the win. Racing side-by-side, the two made contact coming to the checkered flag and spun across the line. Hasson took the win, with Divanna getting second.

Hickory Motor Speedway returns to action on Saturday, March 11. For more information, visit

Hickory Motor Speedway – Newton, NC
Race Results – March 4, 2017

Late Model Race 1
1. 76 Ryan Millington
2. 9W Charlie Watson
3. 5G Cole Glasson
4. 12G Andrew Garcia
5. 29 Jake Ruggles
6. 18G Ty Gibbs
7. 71 Kyle Mansch
8. 15O Omar Jurado
9. 77T Tal Davidson
10. 41T Dennis Trivette
11. 16S R.D. Smith II
12. 83 Justin Carroll

Late Model Race 2
1. 16S R.D. Smith II
2. 5G Cole Glasson
3. 76 Ryan Millington
4. 77T Tal Davidson
5. 9W Charlie Watson
6. 18G Ty Gibbs
7. 12G Andrew Garcia
8. 15O Omar Jurado
9. 71 Kyle Mansch
10. 29 Jake Ruggles
11. 41T Dennis Trivette
12. 83 Justin Carroll

Limited Late Models
1. 51 Jeremy Pelfrey
2. 29 Mitch Walker
3. 34 Pat Rachels
4. 18R Alex Reece
5. 21 Monty Cox
6. 11 Dillon Houser
7. 99E Matthew Elledge
8. 3D Dylan Oliver
9. 5 Juan Gonzales
10. 43 Greg Wise
11. 93 Jamie Sutton
12. 97L William Lester

1. 71 Kyle Divanna
2. 71D Robert Divanna
3. 18 Casey Meyer
4. 97 Danny Crump, Jr.
5. 69 Ben Campbell
6. 51 Robbie Hollifield
7. 1 Justin Austin
8. 6 Darren Dickinson
DQ: 83 David Hasson

Street Stocks
1. 3 Kevin Eby
2. 18D Cody DeMarmels
3. 77P Mark Whitten
4. 7 Eric Evans
5. 64 Marshall Sutton
6. 69 Trey Buff
7. 2J Ethan Johnson
8. 9C Chris Torrence

Super Trucks
1. 36D Tyler Dayton
2. 15C Sheflon Clay
3. 51 Allen Huffman
4. 26 Charlie Neill
5. 30 Joey Shuryan
6. 8 Robert Hapeman
7. 45 Tanner Long
8. 99 David Messer
9. 3 Colby White
DNS: 97H Zach Hale


About Track PR