Haley Scores Limited Late Model Win In Hartwell Opener

Brandon Haley powers through a turn at Hartwell Speedway on Saturday, where he took the Limited Late Model feature in the track’s 2017 season opening weekend. Photo by Heather Rhoades

Brandon Haley opened up the 2017 racing season at Hartwell Speedway on Saturday in the best way possible – with a win.

Haley scored the victory in the Limited Late Model feature at the Hartwell, Georgia 3/8 clay raceway, edging out Payton Freeman for the win.

Gus Simpson crossed the finish line in third, with Dustin Mincey in fourth and John Anderson in fifth.

In other action, Deno Long scored the victory in the Crate Late Model feature. Danny Sanders finished in second, followed by Adam Partain in third, Payton Freeman in fourth and Steven Bowie in fifth.

Shane Yarbrough was the winner in the Hobby Stock feature, with Cody Segars in second, Alex Yarbrough in third, Ralph Anderson in fourth and Josh Roberts in fifth.

David Archer topped the Modified Street field to pick up the victory. Kole Hardy finished in second, with Preston Stickland in third and Brandon Williams in fourth.

Chad Hoopaugh won the Stock V8 feature, with Paul Moore, Brad Nickerson, Brandon Hinton and Chaz Allen rounding out the top five.

In the Stock Four feature, Kenny Dobbs took the victory, with Fred Young in second.

Hunter Anthony was the winner in the Up Front feature. Austin Elrod finished second, followed by Joel Powell, Jr. in third, Justin Reed in fourth and Ricky Holcomb in fifth.

Hartwell Speedway is back in action on Saturday, March 11, with racing slated in seven divisions. For more information, visit Hartwell-Speedway.com.

Hartwell Speedway – Hartwell, GA
Race Results – March 4, 2017

Limited Late Model
1. #51 Brandon Haley
2. #F1 Payton Freeman
3. #11 Gus Simpson
4. #107 Dustin Mincey
5. #7 John Anderson

Crate Late Model
1. #9 Deno Long
2. # Danny Sanders
3. #87 Adam Partain
4. #F1 Payton Freeman
5. #7 Steven Bowie
6. #511 Austin Reed
7. #15 Cody Pritchett

1. #141 Shane Yarbrough
2. #14 Cody Segars
3. #41 Alex Yarbrough
4. #21 Ralph Anderson
5. #818 Josh Roberts
6. #71 Jody Russell

Modified Street
1. #39 David Archer
2. #30 Kole Hardy
3. #94 Preston Strickland
4. #21 Brandon Williams

Stock V8
1. #45 Chad Hoopaugh
2. #35 Paul Moore
3. #73 Brad Nickerson
4. #8 Brandon Hinton
5. #13 Chaz Allen
6. #18 Jeremy Jones

Stock Four
1. #66 Kenny Dobbs
2. #17 Fred Young

Up Front
1. #A2 Hunter Anthony
2. #A1 Austin Elrod
3. #23 Joel Powell, Jr.
4. #59 Justin Reed
5. #4 Ricky Holcomb
6. #11 Nickoli Holcomb
7. #89 Joel Powell, Sr.
8. #02 Debbie Lynn
9. #57 D.J. Carey
10. #8 Andrew Smith
11. #5 Michael Elrod
12. #1 Kenneth Taylor


About Brandon Reed