Derek Hagar Hustles To USCS Sprints Victory At Magnolia

Derek Hagar charged to his first USCS Sprint Car Series victory of the season Saturday night at Magnolia Motor Speedway. Photo: USCS Media

Derek Hagar topped the field Saturday night to take the win in the 30-lap USCS Sprint Car Series feature at Mississippi’s Magnolia Motor Speedway.

The of Marion, Arkansas driver took the lead from the start and was never challenged as he led wire-to-wire for his 44th career series victory.

Terry Gray finished second, with Danny Smith third, Morgan Turpen fourth and Tim Crawley in fifth.

Marshall Skinner, Danny Sams III, Andy McElhannon, Brandon Taylor ninth and Shane Morgan rounded out the top ten.

After earning the pole, Hagar took the lead at the start of the race, followed by Gray, Crawley, Stewart, and Smith. Crawley and Stewart passed Gray on lap three to move up to second and third, respectively. Gray got around Stewart on lap seven to reclaim the third spot behind Hagar and Crawley.

While Hagar continued to lead, the battle for position waged on behind him. Gray would move to second on lap 22, finding himself some five seconds behind Hagar. Six laps later, Hagar’s advantage was gone thanks to a caution for a spin by Tony Again in turn one. That set up a three lap dash for the win.

Hagar was up to the challenge, as he motored out to over a two second advantage by the time the checkered flag flew.

In preliminary action, former NASCAR criver Tony Stewart won the third heat race, while Crawley and Hagar also scored heat race wins.

In other action, Preston Seratt was the winner in the USCS Outlaw Modified race, and Dusty Young took the victory in the USCS 600 Mini Sprint feature.

The USCS Sprint Car Series returns to action on March 18 at Tennessee’s Lexington 104 Speedway.

For more information, visit

USCS Sprint Car Series
Magnolia Motor Speedway – Columbus, MS
Race Results – March 4, 2017

1. 9jr Derek Hagar – Marion, AR
2. 10 Terry Gray – Bartlett, TN
3. 4 Danny Smith – Chillicothe, OH
4. 10m Morgan Turpen – Cordova, TN
5. 88 Tim Crawley – Benton, AR
6. 26 Marshall Skinner – Marion, AR
7. 24 Danny Sams III – Englewood, FL
8. 42 Andy McElhannon – Nesbit, S
9. 07 Brandon Taylor – Cumming, GA
10. 01 Shane Morgan – Biloxi, MS
11. 14m Jordon Mallett – Greenbrier, AR
12. 17 Harli White – Lindsay, OK
13. 13 Todd Fayard – Saucier, MS
14. 15 Joey Schmidt – Ellisville, S
15. 27 Curt Terrell – Bartlett, TN
16. 10k Dewayne White – Byhalia, MS
17. 40 Howard Moore – Memphis, TN
18. 1a Lee Moore – Tuscaloosa, AL
19. 93 Jake Knight – Georgetown, MS
20. 38 Tony Again – Myers, FL
21. 21 Butch David – Geismar, LA
22. 28 Jeff Willingham – Ripley, MS
23. 14 Tony Stewart – Columbus, IN
24. 01t Brandon Olson – Gulfport, MS
DNS: 23 Seth Bergman – Snohomish, WA


About Series PR