Morgan Turpen Wins USCS Sprints Opener At Hattiesburg

Morgan Turpen drove the the victory in Friday night’s USCS Sprint Car Series season opening race at Hattiesburg Speedway on Friday night. Photo: USCS Media

Morgan Turpen, the two-time and defending USCS Sprint Car Series National Champion, served notice on Friday night that she is looking for a third-straight title.

The Cordova, Tennessee driver started from the pole, and then led all 30 laps to score the victory in the 2017 series season opener at Mississippi’s Hattiesburg Speedway.

It marked Turpen’s 13th career series feature win.

Danny Sams III came home with a second-place finish, beating out former NASCAR champion Tony Stewart, who held on for a third place finish. Marshall Skinner finished in fourth, with Jordon Mallett in fifth.

Todd Fayard, Terry Gray, Andy McElhannon, Kyle Amerson and Howard Moore rounded out the top ten.

Turpen grabbed the lead at the drop of the green flag, followed by Harli White and Sams. Skinner and Derek Hagar moved around Sams on the second lap to take over the third and fourth spots, respectively.

Hagar passed Skinner for the third spot on lap three as the fight continued between Sams, Smith and Skinner behind him. The night took a bad turn for two front runners on lap six, when Shane Morgan spun in turn four, sending both White and Hagar to the pit area and ended their battle for the second spot.

Back under green, Turpen retook the lead over Sams III, Smith, Skinner and Stewart. Stewart was able to pass Skinner on lap eight to move up into the fourth spot, then he and Smith battled for the third spot. Smith brought out the caution flag on lap 17, when he slowed on the speedway.

Back under green, Turpen drove away to the victory.

For more information on the USCS Sprint Car Series, visit

USCS Sprint Car Series
Hattiesburg Speedway – Hattiesburg – MS
Race Results – March 3 – 2017

1. 10M Morgan Turpen – Cordova, TN
2. 24D Danny Sams III – Englewood, FL
3. 14 Tony Stewart – Rushville, IN
4. 26 Marshall Skinner – Marion, AR
5. 14m Jordon Mallett – Greenbrier, AR
6. 13 Todd Fayard – Saucier, MS
7. 10 Terry Gray – Bartlett, TN
8. 42 Andy McElhannon – Nesbit, MS
9. 29a Kyle Amerson – Montgomery, AL
10. 40 Howard Moore – Memphis, TN
11. 21 Butch David – Geismar, LA
12. 07 Brandon Taylor – Cumming, GA
13. 01T Brandon Olson – Biloxi, MS
14. 28 Jeff Willingham – Ripley, MS
15. 93 Jake Knight – Georgetown, MS
16. 88 Brandon Blendon – Gulfport, MS
17. 4 Danny Smith – Chillicothe, OH
18. 17w Harli White – Lindsay, OK
19. 9jr.Derek Hagar – Marion, AR
20. 01 – Shane Morgan – Biloxi, MS
21. 52 Cody Karl – Gulfport, MS
22. 1s Joey Schmidt – Ellisville, MS
23. 38 Tony Agin – Ft. Myers, FL
24. 27 Cur Terrell – Bartlett, TN
25. 29s Rusty Sanford – Seminary, MS


About Series PR